The Messenger team have gone crazy with security now. They have entered a huge paranoid state which requires sloppy programming to prevent viruses spreading across the Messenger network. They have blocked all URLs containing the popular .info domain.

This is their response to the vast amount of viruses spreading using URLs containing '.info'. However, instead of blocking domains by a case by case basis, Microsoft has blocked millions of useful webpages by suggesting that all .info domains are dangerous! This is a typical example of sloppy, rushed programming.

I find this surprising after an article got some attention about Microsoft already censoring messages containing .pif, download.php or staff.php, but this is really pushing it. I wonder whose decision it was to block all .info domains being sent over Messenger?

This paranoid attitude to scanning messages on both the client and server side is also causing Messenger to act slow and even freeze up! There must be some real poor programmers developing Messenger and I have no idea why Microsoft has done nothing about this.

>> Source: mess.be
5 comments | 18 trackbacks | Permalink | 1678 views | 215 words


Tags: Blocked  Censoring  .info  Microsoft  

Did you like this news post? You can get all the latest articles at msgstuff.com in your email inbox each morning by entering your email address below. Your address will only be used for mailing you the articles, and each one will include a link so you can unsubscribe at any time. If you have an RSS reader, I recommend you subscribe to the Full RSS Feed

Comments:



Comment by the andyman
Posted on Thu 09 Aug 2007 (10:34 GMT)
This paranoid attitude to scanning messages on both the client and server side is also causing Messenger to act slow and even freeze up!
Actually they've fixed that now and I think messages are only scanned on the receiving client side now as well.


Comment by Nathan
Posted on Wed 08 Aug 2007 (00:41 GMT)
Well it blocks .info so yeah codeman38 it would block that, though a small fix for that would be to send the domain in the following format;
http://informationweek.com


Comment by codeman38
Posted on Fri 03 Aug 2007 (12:50 GMT)
The kicker is that it doesn't just block .info domains, which is bad enough - it blocks *anything* containing the string ".info", even if it's www.informationweek.com or even MessageBoxIcon.Information.

Seriously, whose bright idea was this?


Comment by Nathan
Posted on Tue 31 Jul 2007 (18:34 GMT)
Here's a work around,
http://msghelp.net/showthread.php?tid=76437
Enjoy


Comment by .Lou
Posted on Tue 31 Jul 2007 (17:49 GMT)
I confirm. Microsoft are idiots.


Add Comment:

Your Name
Your Email Address
(Never Displayed)
Your Website
Message



Type the value in the image above
Notify me of further comments